Board of Deacons

Moderator: Laura Winkelman

The Board of Deacons consists of twelve Deacons. They are elected by the congregation for a three year term in three equal and staggered classes. Those who serve in this capacity are also called of God through their election, are ordained and installed as Deacons.  They meet the second Monday night of each month at 7:00pm, except during the summer.

Deacons are the ones that the congregation most often interfaces with. They provide for the after worship refreshments, help with most of our special dinners, plan monthly fellowship events, provide funeral lunches, and oversee the kitchen and its supplies. They help with the Annual Fall Festival and other fundraisers. They provide clothing and gifts for needy children, and funds to meet church and member emergencies. They oversee the procurement of flowers for the sanctuary. They also secure and train the volunteers who usher and those who serve during our coffee hour time, with one deacon taking each month. With the elders, pastor, and Evangelism & Missions Committee they help oversee the Care Groups of the congregation, and bring pastoral needs to the Pastor’s attention. One or more deacons also serves on each Session Committee. The Board of Deacons meets once each month except during the Summer. 

The Book of Order (G-6.0402) defines the duty of deacons by saying: “It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress. They shall assume such other duties as may be delegated to them from time to time by the Session.”

The Deacons also have their own committees, including: Flowers, Calendar, Memorial Lunches & Event Planning, Purchasing, and Fellowship.


Officers and Committees 2018

Deacon's Officers & Committees Deacons on Session Committees
Moderator: Laura Winkelman Worship/Planning:
Secretary:  Christian Education: 
Treasurer: Mary Reighard Evangelism & Missions: Laura Winkelman
Calendar/Publicity: David Bernand Service: David Bernard
Flowers: Sheryl Bernard, Crystal Hauserman Commitment: 
Memorial/Event Planning: Sheryl Bernard Fund-raising: Mary Reighard, Laura Winkleman
Purchasing: Mary Reighard Nominating: 
Fellowship: Sheryl Bernard  
Needy Families: All Deacons